the product owner is responsible for prioritizing the backlog but there are multiple users that can edit items in the backlog. Currently, any user that can edit backlog items can also change the order of the items. Build a way to allow users to edit assets but not change their priority.

Comments

  • Worthy of mention here:

    The Summer 2009 Release adds drag and drop ranking to the item's audit history. This doesn't directly address the ability to *prevent* changes, but does help track down who is making changes if the rankings don't seem right to the product owner.

  • I think this needs to be looked at again. We have the same concerns that the PO's are accountable for prioritizing the backlog, but there is no way to limit the permissions so only PO or Scrum masters can modify. Looking at the history doesn't prevent the issue from happening in the 1st place.

  • I would also like to add that the sort order in the Portfolio UI should be separate from the sort order in the Backlog UI.

  • Please make this a real feature! We can spend hours in meetings getting an agreed upon prioritization and then someone accidentally drags an item and messes it up. Our only recourse is to hope someone notices, and then checks the history, which can be very difficult when sorting hundreds of items.