As a VersionOne User I would like the required field error handling to not discard all the data entered for the new record or records when data is not included for a required field; thus requiring re-entering all the data again in addition to the missing required field data.

Comments

  • If the application is really discarding all the data, this is a severity 1 defect that really must be fixed.

  • More specific user story:
    As a VersionOne User I would like the required field error handling to not discard all the data entered for the new record or records when data is not included for a required field; thus requiring re-entering all the data again in addition to the missing required field data. 

    For example, we have some custom fields (Work Category and Requires End User Documentation) that may or may not be visible in every user's grid. Users who edit records in the grid and then click Apply will lose their entry because they don't see the required fields and don't realize they have to enter them.

    This problem impacts all users who edit backlog items, defects, and requests, which are essentially all users in our Enterprise system.